McDonalds fails again

Last night I was driving home from Tulsa in a bit of a funk, a lot on my mind. It was my intention to eat when I got home, but as I was driving, I started to feel weak and shaky – my blood sugar was getting low. So, I pulled into the McDonald’s there on the Muskogee Turnpike.

I asked for a McDouble Mighty Kids meal. The first question threw me a bit when she asked me if I wanted the Happy Meal. I glanced at the menu and didn’t see where the McDouble was offered as a Happy Meal, so I repeated McDouble Mighty Kids meal. She then asked me if I wanted a girl’s toy, or a boy’s. Normally, this makes me want to go off on a feminist rant, but instead I just told her to give me a girl’s toy.

The total was a little higher than I expected, but I assumed I just hadn’t figured the tax right.

Down the road, I inhaled the fries (they were hot and yummy), I found the plastic toy and set it aside, and then pulled out a cardboard box filled with… Chicken McNuggets. (Barf). I am not a big fan of Nuggets. I ate them – I was hungry, but I wasn’t happy about it.

Today, I just happened to glance over at the discarded toy – They gave me the wrong gender-stereotype-reinforcing toy. It was a Batman toy.

Tags: ,

Leave a comment